Planned Events for 2013

Sunday 27 January

UN International Holocaust Memorial Day 2013

Sunday 3 February

Friends of the JHC Film Screening: “The One That Got Away”

Thursday 7 February

JHC Social Club: Emmanuel Santos on “Art and Remembrance”

Thursday 28 February

JHC Film Club: “The Shop on Main Street”

Thursday 7 March

JHC Social Club: Zeddy Lawrence

Wednesday 20 March

JHC Education Course Information Night

Thursday 28 March

JHC Film Club: “God on Trial”

Thursday 18 April

JHC Social Club: Shelley Cohney on “The History of Jewish Food”

Monday 22 April

JHC Holocaust Education Course Commencement

Thursday 2 May

JHC Film Club: “As We Forgive”

Thursday 30 May

JHC Social Club: Yvette Craft on “Food Security and Famine in the 21st Century”

Thursday 30 May

JHC Film Club: “Misa’s Fugue”

Thursday 20 June

JHC Film Club: “Blinky & Me”

Thursday 27 June

JHC Social Club: Anita Frayman on “Cultural Diversity among Older Jewish people in Melbourne”

Thursday 25 July

JHC Social Club: Leah Justin on “Perceptions from a trip to Germany”

Thursday 1 August

Public Lecture: “Shattering the Silence: Memory after the Holocaust” by Hasia Diner

Thursday 8 August

German Life Certificate Signing

Thursday 5 August

Public Lecture: “Is the Holocaust Different from other Genocides?” by Prof Dan Michman

Thursday 8 August

JHC Film Club: “Jew Suss: Rise & Fall”

Wednesday 21 August

Public Lecture: “In Conversation with Morris Gleitzman”

Thursday 22 August

JHC Social Club: Eddie Tamir on “Jewish International Film Festival (JIFF)”

Thursday 29 August

JHC Film Club: “The Passenger”

Thursday 12 September

JHC Social Club: Dr Ann Wollner on “International Child Abduction”

Wednesday 11 September

Special Screening: 2013 ADC Gandel Oration

Thursday 3 October

JHC Film Club: “Adam Resurrected”

Thursday 17 October

JHC Social Club: Viv Parry on “Aboriginal people and the Holocaust”

Wednesday 23 October

Lillian Renard Teachers’ Seminar – “Teaching the Holocaust”

Thursday 31 October

JHC Film Club: “Tears of Stone”

Wednesday 6 November

Kristallnacht – The Betty & Shmuel Rozenkranz Oration

Sunday 10 November

‘To Life 2013’ Fine Art Auction

Thursday 14 November

JHC Social Club: Avigail Rivkah Hasofer

Sunday 17 November

Public Lecture: Ethel Davis

Thursday 28 November

JHC Film Club: “Enemies of the People”

Thursday 5 December

JHC Social Club: Brett Kaye